Del Oro Individual Award Nominations

Recognize a colleague for their committment to the profession

Individual Awards Email

The Del Oro (gold) Awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the PR profession. Nominations are accepted for the following five categories.


Tex Taylor Lifetime Achievement: Presented to an individual in recognition of achievement and outstanding leadership in the field of public relations. The honor is awarded to the chapter member who has helped develop public relations as a credible profession and has accomplished landmark professional achievements, both professionally and personally. Nominees should have worked or taught in public relations 20 or more years. 

Public Relations Professional of the Year: Presented to a professional who represents the best in public relations in a given year. This award honors an outstanding individual who, in a given year, achieves tremendous success in public relations: the communications process that establishes mutually beneficial relationships between an organization and its publics. The recipient does not need to be a chapter member.

Public Relations Champion: Presented to an individual who values and embraces the importance of public relations in the work place. The recipient does not need to be a chapter member. A potential recipient could be the CEO of a company, legislator, a business owner, or other professionals and leaders in the community who have demonstrated that they understand the importance and value the tenets of public relations and those who work in the PR field. 

Community Service: Presented to an individual contributing to the practice of public relations who as a volunteer has given exceptional time and talents to community service activities. The recipient does not need to be a chapter member.

Horizon: Presented to a “rising star” chapter member who has demonstrated professionalism and significant accomplishment in fewer than five years in public relations. 

Nomination Guidelines

To nominate a colleague for a Del Oro Individual Award in one of the categories above, submit a letter of nomination. There is no formal entry form and no fee for submitting nominations. Supporting letters and material will also be accepted, up to a total of four pages per nomination. Judges will consider only the first four pages submitted. 

The nominee must have demonstrated outstanding leadership and management skills, innovation and superb use of the four components of the public relations planning process: research, planning, implementation and evaluation.

Candidates must be nominated by someone in the community who has knowledge of and involvement with the extraordinary individual’s accomplishment or contribution. Nominations for these awards are to be kept in the strictest confidence between the submitters and the Del Oro Judging Committee Chair. Please include contact information for your nominee, including a valid email address and phone number.

PRSA membership is not required for submitter. Nominees for the Professional of the Year, PR Champion, and Community Service categories do NOT require chapter membership. Nominees for the Tex Taylor Lifetime Achievement and Horizon categories MUST be PRSA San Antonio members.

Nominees must work primarily in the San Antonio market or in a nearby market if their market does not have a PRSA chapter.


Del Oro Individual Award nominations are due no later than midnight CST on April 5, 2021.


Submit a Nomination

Email nominations and supporting letters or materials to Del Oro Judging Committee Chair Dawn Robinette, APR at [email protected]. For questions, contact Dawn by email or phone at (210) 564-9417.