San Antonio PRSA Virtually Hosts the 2020 Del Oro Awards

Posted by PRSA_MelissaMY on 08/26/2020 9:18 am  

San Antonio PRSA Virtually Hosts the 2020 Del Oro Awards


San Antonio, TX - Along with celebrating its 65 anniversary, The San Antonio Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America will be hosting the Del Oro Awards Program virtually this year. The online event will honor the extraordinary contributions of individuals in the public relations field, including Public Relations Professional of the Year and Public Relations Champion, awarded to Mayor Ron Nirenberg and Judge Nelson W. Wolf.

The Del Oro Awards Program recognizes the best in public relations work in the San Antonio area and consists of three categories: Del Oro, La Plata, and El Bronce. The La Plata Awards are San Antonio's highest awards for superior public relations campaigns while El Bronce awards achievement in public relations tactics.

The Del Oro individual gold awards are presented to public relations professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the profession. The winners are as follows:

The Public Relations Champion Award- Presented to those who embrace the importance of public relations in the workplace, but do not necessarily work in the field, such as community leaders, Mayor Ron Neierberg and Judge Nelson W. Wolf.

Leading the City of San Antonio during the beginning and current stages of the COVID-19 pandemic, The Del Oro Nominating Committee concluded that Mayor Ron Neierberg and Bexar County Judge, Nelson W. Wolf, have justly won the rights to the Public Relations Campions Award. The well-deserved prize represents the efficacious transparency in their communication works as they embrace the tenets of public relations during this time of uncertainty.

On July 1, the President of PRSA, Maren Minchew, and Del Oro Award Individual Award Chair, Fran Kenneley, surprised both the Mayor of San Antonio and Judge Nelson during a briefing with the award.

The Public Relations Professional of the Year Award- Presented to an expert in the field who represents the best in public relations work in 2020, Dawn Robinette, APR.  

Lauded for her outstanding leadership and management skills, Dawn Robinette consistently creates exemplary campaigns for all of her clients, including the Briscoe Western Art Museum and Boerne’s Old West Christmas Light Fest. This past year she assembled a top-flight team to pull off a strategic public relations campaign that brought immense recognition and awareness to the festivities of the inaugural Day of the Dead San Antonio event.

Nominated by Pamela Price, a San Antonio-based writer, and The Alamo City Moms Blog to name a couple, Dawn Robinette, APR is praised by her clients for creating refreshing initiatives for their companies and bringing their brands to new heights. 

The Community Service Award- Presented to Eric Cooper and his dedicated team at the San Antonio Food Bank.

Traditionally awarded to a public relations professional, this year, the Del Oro Nominating Committee wanted to recognize Eric Cooper for his stellar dedication and efforts to ensure food continues to reach those in need. Despite economic uncertainty and a sky-rocketing demand for food, Eric Cooper and The San Antonio Food Bank continue to give their all to feed those in need during this unprecedented time.

The Tex Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award- Presented to an individual in recognition of achievement and outstanding leadership in the field of public relations--Beth Graham.

A public relations powerhouse for over 25 years, Beth Graham is credited with the massive success of developing a strategic partnership between the San Antonio Public Library and NowCastSA. Lending her expertise in the field to the Magik Theater, Activ8, South Park Mall, and many non-profit organizations, she uses her PR and social networking skills to improve and expand her clients’ scope of engagement.

Beth shared with PRSA that she “feels honored to be recognized by the organization and her peers and proud of having reached a standard Tex Taylor would be proud of.”

In addition to the Del Oro individual gold awards, PRSA awarded over 20 organizations with El Bronce and La Plata awards. Recipients of the prizes include Joe Arrington, Albert Pedroza, and Mike 'Woody' Woodward for their #HeroLikeHer campaign, Gretchen Roufs for her creative tactic, Sketching the Airport's Future: Getting Ideas on the Table, and Melissa Vela-Williamson and Laura Aplin for their Girl Scouts and Meals on Wheels Partner to Feed Pets campaign.

The Public Relations Society of America is the nation’s leading professional organization serving the communication community. With more than 30,00 professional and student members, PRSA is collectively represented across the U.S. by 110 Chapters and 14 Professional Interest Sections. On the 65 anniversary of the San Antonio Chapter, join PRSA in recognizing the Del Oro winners during a virtual celebration on July 30 from 5:00 p.m. to 5:45 p.m.