Top PR Professionals and Programs Honored at 12th Annual PRSA Del Oro Awards Banquet

Posted by PRSA_MelissaMY on 05/09/2014 10:35 pm  

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) San Antonio Chapter honored on May 8 the best and brightest in the public relations industry at the 12th annual PRSA San Antonio Del Oro Awards Banquet.

Four industry professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the public relations profession were honored with Del Oro Individual Awards.

  • The Horizon Award, which honors a rising star public relations professional with less than five years experience, went to Jeannette Garcia of Frost and Sullivan.
  • Melissa C. Sorola of Time Warner Cable was recognized with the Community Service Award, which recognizes a public relations professional who has given exceptional time and talents to community service activities.
  • Mary DeLay, vice president of communications and chief of staff to the president at theUniversity of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, was awarded the Public Relations Professional of the Year Award, which is presented to an individual who represents the best in public relations.
  • The Tex Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors a public relations professional who has helped develop public relations as a credible profession and has accomplished landmark professional achievements, was awarded to Anne Keever Cannon, APR. Keever Cannon recently retired after 38 years in the field of public relations.


In addition to the individual awards, 32 awards were given in one of three categories—El Bronce Awards, honoring outstanding public relations tactics; La Plata Awards, honoring outstanding public relations campaigns and Best of Category Awards, honoring the top winners in all categories.

Two students studying public relations were also recognized with scholarships. Mia Mineghino, a student at Trinity University, was awarded with the Ellis Shapiro Scholarship and Tanya Balderas, a student at the University of Texas at San Antonio, was awarded the Marilyn Potts Scholarship.

The La Plata and El Bronce judging was provided by the PRSA Chapter of Wichita, Kansas. Chartered in 1947, the Public Relations Society of America is the world’s largest organization of public relations professionals. PRSA provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and upholds the principles of ethics for its members and the multi-billion dollar global public relations profession.  For more information on PRSA San Antonio, visit